Day 3: a day late

Day 3 was a rather eventful sort of day. We woke up pretty early because we needed to be at Granny’s house at 10 am. I can’t remember the last time I saw 8:30 am. For those new to my blog, we are on a noon to 4 am schedule due to my husband and son’s work schedule.

So, anyways, we were meeting with the new owner (who actually sent his contractor instead) to do a final walk through and hand over the keys to Granny’s house. It was bittersweet. It was my husband’s summer home as a child. It was where he ran to when his parents were acting like jerks. It’s where we lived more than once with our children. It’s where we cared for her in her final months and where we said goodbye.

The guy didn’t even really walk through. We entered the house, he walked to the kitchen where he set down the paperwork for my husband to sign, and then he handed us our check as promised for vacating in a timely fashion. It was sad and painful to walk away, but we know Granny wouldn’t have wanted us to burden ourselves any longer. The house was the anchor that was pulling us under.

We went to the bank to cash our check, picked up Bear B’s seizure medication and a few items from the grocery store before making our way back home. After we got home, we started organizing and rearranging. Mostly we wanted to make the living room more functional. We have a full house and needed people to be able to sit comfortably.

We had just finished moving our daughter’s dresser out of the living room, and were working on clearing the remaining boxes when there was a knock on the door. The gas company was there to shut us off. The previous owners had been stealing our mail (we had to get a new mailbox lock and key issued), so we didn’t get any of the bills. Fortunately, she was able to take cash and gave us a receipt that included her employee number for verification. We finished putting the living room together, and Clark hooked up the tv so I had something to do while taking breaks from unpacking, cleaning, and organizing.

The living room isn’t how it’s going to stay, but at least it is functioning. The brown couch is only temporary because the chair that is here needs new cushions, and the other two chairs are either in storage or at my in laws house. All of my books and bookshelves are in storage (a moment of silence for the poor, mistreated things).

I spent the majority of the day unpacking and organizing. I did a load of laundry and then hung it all to dry. All of my hangers are in storage and we haven’t bought a new dryer yet (at gran’s we had a gas dryer and here we need an electric), so I can only manage to find a place to hang one load at a time. This is doing absolutely nothing to even make a dent in the overflowing hamper, but everyone is wearing clean underwear.

Around 6:30 last night, my mother in law called. They were heading out our way and wanted to bring my cat to me. She’s been living with them for a few years because we couldn’t keep her before. They also brought me back my plants that moved in with them while we were homeless. (yes, his family was willing to take in animals and plants but not their son, his wife, and their two children)

Somewhere near 8 they finally arrived. Smokey, who does make an appearance in Bully Troubles as the lazy cat who is always napping and never wants to go on adventures with Bear B and Stone, was meowing up a storm. They said she was protesting the whole ride over. After giving my mother in law the nickel tour (it was her first time here), I got Smokey set up and then let her out of the carrier.

She took one look at Bear B, who was much smaller when she last saw him, and booked it to the nearest hiding place she could find. I coaxed/pulled her out of there and was snuggling her on the love seat when Bear B and our daughter both got in her face. I now have a hole in my knee where she launched herself off of me to hide beneath the love seat.

img_2247

She is accepting affection and being really sweet, from under the love seat. Clark did manage to coax her out earlier. He showed her where her food is and then she did wander around for a bit. Bear B was all about saying “hi” over and over and over again. It all became too much and she fled behind the boxes and found a safe place to hide. My son moved some of that stuff and chased her out of there. She’s now contently sleeping back underneath the love seat again.

To round out my evening, I decided to moon my unexpected guest. If you recall, I told you that the friend who helped us move had lost his place to stay, so he and his girl are staying with us until they get back on their feet. They are a couple of twenty four year old kids struggling to make their way in this difficult economy.

img_2248

I’m not sure when it happened. We are all positive that there was no hole at all when my in laws were here dropping off the cat. I stood up from the love seat that he just so happened to be standing behind at the time, and he got an eyeful of old married lady panties.

And that is how day 3 at the new place went. Now, it’s day 4, it’s Friday, and I’m taking the day to breathe. I decided that I won’t be cooking dinner tonight. I’m ordering pizza to be delivered right around midnight. I’m tired and I’m sick of my slow cooker. I never thought I would say that, but it’s true. I don’t want another throw it all together and see what it tastes like meal.

This weekend we are buying a dryer and buying a new bike for our daughter because her chain chose now to break. We decided it’s an old hand me down bike in her least favorite color, so we will let her just pick out a new one.

I’m hoping to get more unpacked and start moving things in from storage and doing the sorting and organizing and sending back to storage over the weekend, too. If not, no worries. Just rolling with it and seeing where each day leads.

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

