Recipe: Best Shredded Pork (Slow Cooker)

The other night, I made the best shredded pork I’ve ever made. It was delicious. I thought I’d share the secret with you. 

First, I rubbed both tenderloins with some Texas dry rub. You can find some great recipes online or use your favorite rub. 

I melted a couple of tablespoons of coconut oil in a skillet and browned the tenderloins on all sides. 

In the slow cooker, I covered the bottoms with onion slices. I had a vidalia onion the size of a newborn’s head. I cut it in half and then sliced it like I would rings.  I placed the tenderloins ontop of the bed of onions, put the lid on, and set it to cook on low. 

I cooked it on low for 5 hours. I removed the tenderloin to a large bowl and shredded it. I used tongs to fish out the onions and put them in the bowl with the shredded pork. 

I used a ladle to scoop out as much liquid as I could. I probably left about 2 tablespoons in the bottom of the slow cooker. 

I dumped the shredded pork and onions back into the slow cooker and used the tongs to toss them with a bottle of BBQ sauce (I had Sweet Baby Ray’s hickory brown sugar). I then turned my slow cooker to the warm function and put the lid back on. I let it warm together for about 15-20 minutes. I used the tongs to stir again before serving. 

We put our shredded pork on delicious onion rolls and served them with a side of bacon ranch pasta salad. I also cooked up some fried apples seasoned with sugar and cinnamon. It was a filling and delicious dinner. 

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Best Shredded Pork (Slow Cooker)

    1. It was delicious. I hope you enjoy it.
      In the past I always just simmered it in the slow cooker in the BBQ sauce, shredded it, and returned it to the sauce. There was always a hint of something I found unpleasant. Then it hit me. I’m a Texan. Cook it Texas BBQ style! So glad I did. 😋

      Liked by 1 person

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

