Recipe: Cheesy Potatoes

I am feeling a bit better about things today. I thought I’d stop by and share the recipe for the cheesy potatoes I made for Easter this year.

Normally, I spend weeks planning my holiday menu and grocery shopping list. This year, aside from purchasing a ham, I did not make any such menu plans.

To be honest, I just used the glaze packet that was included with our spiral sliced ham. The rest of the menu was built from things I had on hand. I ended up serving the ham, these cheesy potatoes, dinner rolls, and pineapple tidbits. I made from scratch brownies for dessert.

Funny story about the dinner rolls. I thought I had a canister of flour behind the current canister, which only had about a cup and a half of flour in it. When I pulled out the canister, it contained a half a bag of powdered sugar. My yeast was already proofing in the bowl, and my husband had to make an emergency run to the grocery store. The yeast proofed in warm water/milk and a little bit of sugar for almost an hour. They were large, but kind of dense. I’m not sure if it was the recipe (a new recipe I nabbed off Facebook) or if it was the yeast over-proofing.

So, needless to say, these from scratch cheesy potatoes were the shining star of Easter dinner this year. The recipe was so very easy to pull together and it was made entirely from ingredients I almost always have on hand.

Cheesy Potatoes

3 lbs potatoes, cubed (I used a blend of red and yellow potatoes)

4 tbsp butter
1 onion, diced (I used a large yellow onion)
1 tsp garlic, minced (I like to keep a jar of minced garlic in olive oil on hand)

3 tbsp Wondra (you can substitute all-purpose flour)
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp pepper
1 tsp salt
1 tsp mustard powder
1 tsp paprika

2 cups milk
3 cups shredded cheese, divided (I had colby jack and sharp cheddar)

Preheat oven to 350* and grease a 9×13 baking dish. (I like to use coconut oil)

Place potatoes in a pot and cover them with water. Toss in some kosher salt if desired. Bring to a boil and boil uncovered for about 8-10 minutes. Potatoes will still be firm. Drain and set aside in a large bowl.

In medium saucepan, melt butter over medium high heat. Add onions and cook until soft and translucent. Add in garlic and cook an additional 2 minutes.

Whisk in Wondra and seasonings. Cook, whisking constantly, until golden in color. Whisk in milk. Bring to a simmer, whisking often to prevent sticking. Simmer until thickened. Whisk in 2 cups of cheese. Continue whisking and simmering until cheese is full melted and incorporated.

Pour cheese sauce over potatoes and stir gently to coat. Pour cheesy potatoes into prepared baking dish. Sprinkle with remaining 1 cup of cheese. Cover with foil and bake for 45 minutes. Uncover and bake an additional 15-20 minutes or until sauce is bubbly, potatoes are cooked through, and the top is starting to golden.

Cook’s Note:  You can make these cheesy potatoes ahead. Follow recipe all the way until you cover them with foil. Place covered potatoes in refrigerator until ready to make. For best results, leave refrigerated potatoes on the counter for about 30 minutes before placing them in the preheated oven.

I apologize that I don’t have any pictures of these delicious potatoes. As you know, I’m terrible about remembering to take pictures, especially before I dig into my plate. My family said that these were the best cheesy potatoes I have ever made. Some of the best recipes are inspired by what the cook had on hand at the moment.

Enjoy!

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

