I found my new favorite snack

I grew up turning plain bread into awesome after school snacks. You may have seen posts saying I served poor man’s garlic bread with dinner. This was originally an after school snack I could make myself.

Poor Man’s Garlic Bread

Butter a couple of slices of bread (per person) and place them on a cookie sheet. Sprinkle them with garlic powder and dried parsley. For an extra special treat, sprinkle them with Parmesan. Bake them at 350* for 5-10 minutes, until lightly golden.

And, of course, we’ve all had cinnamon sugar toast. For that, you just toast your bread, butter it, and sprinkle it with cinnamon sugar.

But, my sweet tooth has been craving chocolate lately. What can I say? I’m a chocoholic through and through. The only chocolate I have in the house is some chocolate chips already marked for other recipes and cocoa powder. The problem is that I’m almost out of flour, so I can’t bake any of the treats I have planned.

What does a chocoholic do when there is no chocolate in the house but cocoa powder and she’s out of flour? She thinks outside the box. This is where my new favorite snack came in. I was considering making cinnamon toast. It’s not chocolate, but it’s something sweet. Then I said to myself, “what about cocoa sugar toast?”, and I made some.

Cocoa Sugar Toast

3-4 tbsp sugar (to desired sweetness)
1 tbsp cocoa

Prepare your toast just like for cinnamon sugar toast. Sprinkle with cocoa sugar and enjoy.

I’m not sure if anyone has ever done this before. It seems like it should be a thing. Either way, it was delicious. I’m thinking about making some French toast sometime soon and sprinkling it with my cocoa sugar. Yum.

To be honest, I wish I’d discovered this delicious treat before I’d decided on ground beef for dinner tonight. Maybe tomorrow I can make French toast and serve it with some pan fried ham left over from the other night’s dinner.

Tonight, I’m planning on stuffing a meatloaf full of mashed potatoes and gravy. I’ve never actually stuffed a meatloaf before, but it sounds really delicious. I think I’ll serve it with roasted green beans.

Don’t forget to enter the 100 Follower Celebration Giveaway.

 

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

