Prince charming and a knight in shining armor, all rolled into one…

Everybody says that to have a good relationship, you need to have a date night. I guess our current “date night” would be Saturday. We leave the kids at home. At nineteen and just a week and a half short of eleven, they are capable of taking care of themselves for a few hours.

Date night for us is mostly just taking care of the shopping and errands we need to get done for the week. I’m not complaining. It works for us. I need a break from the kids. I’m here with them 24 hours a day. It gives me a chance to spend alone time with my husband. We chat in the car, we converse as we walk through the aisles, we plan the week’s meals together and we’re just together. It’s pretty perfect, really.

img_1881-1

Date night is whatever you make of it, right? Well, I guess last night, my husband decided to keep date night going after we got home. Laundry was over due (I’d had to delay it because I was out of supplies). Last night, he started the laundry. He’s been moving it along ever since and bringing the loads to me to fold.

We’d picked up Tyson chicken tenders and fries for an easy dinner. He cooked the dinner for me. He told me that I deserved a night off every once in a while. He said I do the cooking and laundry all week. I love that he doesn’t try to say that he works all week and I don’t. I work from home while running the household. He understands that it is two different jobs.

I was already feeling pretty spoiled and very much appreciated, but date night wasn’t over, yet. After the kids went to bed, we snuggled in with Netflix. We finally got the chance to watch Sharknado: the Forth be with You. Like the others, it had us laughing.

I slept like a rock last night after we finally fell asleep. Today, he continues to spoil me. He is still moving the laundry along. He has also come to the rescue helping our daughter with a few things, leaving me to work in peace.

And to make things even better (if they can get even better than that), he rolled in as my knight in shining armor this morning. I hadn’t eaten breakfast (I’m often guilty of skipping this important meal). I had just finished folding a load of laundry, and was getting ready to stand up, when my blood sugar plummeted. I was struggling to keep my eyes open, and felt like I was falling asleep every time I tried to stand. He ran to the kitchen and made me toast.

My husband has spent his weekend reminding me that he is both my prince charming and my knight in shining armor rolled into one perfectly imperfect package. Just one of the many reasons why I love him so much.

I’m off to research a few things for the giveaway, now that I have a place to start. Thanks to those who made recommendations. I’ll keep you updated on the details and even if I must take WordPress’s recommendation of slips of paper in a hat, the giveaway will happen soon.

img_1882

I also need to get dinner put into the slow cooker. Pork tenderloin, golden potatoes, and carrots all simmered in the slow cooker together (I add the carrots during the last half hour or so of cooking).

Hope everyone is enjoying as wonderful of a weekend as I am.

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

