Creamy Chicken & Gnocchi Casserole recipe

My family loves the Olive Garden’s chicken and gnocchi soup. When we can’t get to the Olive Garden, we’ve found that this copycat recipe is pretty good. My daughter has been requesting that I make the soup, but I haven’t been in the mood for soup. Maybe it’s this lack of a winter we’ve been having this year, or maybe it’s because I’m just not the biggest fan of soup.

Not too long ago, I came up with this recipe for Creamy Chicken Noodle Soup Casserole. I started thinking, if I could turn chicken noodle soup into a casserole, what other soups would work. Armed with the copycat recipe for chicken and gnocchi soup and my creamy chicken noodle soup casserole, I crafted this new recipe. Even as I type this up, I am dining on some of the leftovers. Delicious!

img_1867

Creamy Chicken & Gnocchi Casserole

  • 3 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded (recipe below)
    -2 cups chicken broth
    -1/4 tsp thyme
    -1/4 tsp parsley
    -1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 cup chopped onion (aprox. 2 small)
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 3/4 cup flour (I prefer Wondra for sauces and gravies)
  • 1 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 cup chopped carrots
  • 1 cup chopped spinach (frozen or fresh)
  • 16 oz package gnocchi, cooked according to package directions (I used mini gnocchi)
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese (I like Parmesan, Romano, Asiago blend)

Cook the chicken

Simmer chicken breasts on stove top in two cups of broth with 1/4 tsp each thyme, parsley, and nutmeg. It takes approximately thirty minutes. You can shred it immediately or prepare it ahead of time and store it in the fridge until ready to use.

Prepare the sauce

In medium saucepan or large skillet, melt butter with olive oil. Add garlic, onion, and celery. Saute for a few minutes, until veggies are tender.

Whisk in flour (Wondra). Slowly whisk in heavy cream and broth. Stir in seasonings. Simmer, stirring often, until thickened. Add in spinach and carrots. Simmer for about five minutes.

Putting it together

Preheat oven to 350*. Spray a 13 x 9 pan with cooking spray. In large bowl, combine gnocchi, shredded chicken, and sauce. Stir well to coat. Spread in prepared pan. Sprinkle with Parmesan. Cover with foil. Bake for 20 minutes. Remove foil and bake an additional 10 minutes.

Serve with Parmesan and garlic bread.

I baked a garlic and herb bubble bread loaf to go with it. It was delicious.

Note: The carrots stay crisp in this recipe. If you do not want them to stay crisp, I recommend precooking them.

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

