Make a list

Today’s Blogging University assignment is to make a list.

Today, let’s write a list. Compiling a list is a way to let loose, unlock ideas, and free your mind. Today, write your own list on one of these topics:

  • Things I Like
  • Things I’ve Learned
  • Things I Wish
  • Things You’re Good At

There are no rules, though you can create some boundaries for yourself by deciding in advance how many items you’d like to include, or by setting a timer – try a list of 15 items, set a timer for 45 minutes.

I’m a great list maker. I make lists when creating holiday menus, shopping, and packing for a vacation or move. When it comes to my writing, I’m not so good at lists. I do use the sticky notes feature on my computer. I keep lists of my characters and any details that may be pertinent throughout the story. That’s about the extent of my lists when it comes to my writing.

I wasn’t really certain which list I would choose when I started this post. I was leaning the most towards Things I Like. Mainly because it seemed like the easiest one to write. After all, who can’t come up with a list of things that they like? There is so much great stuff to enjoy in the world. I knew that I wouldn’t write a list of Things I Wish. This is mainly due to superstition. If you share your wishes, then they don’t come true. Right? Then, there is the option of writing a list of Things You’re Good At. I’m not really good at focusing on my positives. I am not really good at focusing on myself. But, Things I’ve Learned is the one that keeps calling to me.

I’ve learned so much in my 37 years. I don’t think I ever really thought to make a list of them, but here we go:

  1. I’ve learned that being family doesn’t guarantee love.
  2. I’ve learned that marriage is a lot of hard work and compromise.
  3. I’ve learned that you have to be flexible because just when you have a handle on things, life throws you a curve ball.
  4. I’ve learned that some people only care about you if there is some benefit to them.
  5. I’ve learned that the only person who can truly judge me is me.
  6. I’ve learned that love is worth more to me than all the fortunes in the world.
  7. I’ve learned that true love is an amazing gift.
  8. I’ve learned that I am capable of so much more than I ever imagined I would be.
  9. I’ve learned that I am strong and resilient.
  10. I’ve learned that it’s okay to have days where you just don’t want to.
  11. I’ve learned that if you want something in life, you have to go out and get it.
  12. I’ve learned that you do not get what you put in and people don’t always get what they deserve.
  13. I’ve learned to let go of fear and uncertainty and put a little faith and trust in their place.
  14. I’ve learned that it’s okay that life didn’t turn out the way I planned.
  15. Most importantly, I’ve learned how to enjoy the life I have.

How about you? Do you have a list of things you’ve learned? Can you make one of the other lists?

One thought on “Make a list

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

