I write because…

I decided to sign up for the Blogging University by The Daily Post. Today is day 1 of the course. They provided a writing prompt (I write because…). I’m to spend either 15 or 30 minutes (my choice) free writing on the topic. Here I go. 

I write because it brings me pleasure. It opens my mind and imagination to otherwise unobtainable heights. Writing gives me a way to sort through my thoughts and feelings. It allows me to organize them and make sense of them. 

Mostly, I write because I am a writer. Does that seem like a cop out? It isn’t. It’s just how I identify myself. I’m not much of a talker. I miss the days of long, handwritten letters. The days of quick notes passed behind the teachers back. Sometimes, I even miss chatting on yahoo messenger. 

I can craft eloquent texts that convey my message to the reader. Verbally, I stumble through. I search for words or find myself interrupted and, ultimately, dropping the subject. Writing leaves no room for interruption. It means I can get out an entire thought (or collection of them). Even if the recipient isn’t interested in reading my words, I’ve taken the opportunity to say all that I need to say. 

Why do I write? Freedom. Openness. Stress relief. To share my thoughts. Emotional cleansing. 

I write because I’m a writer. It’s what I do. 

6 thoughts on “I write because…

      1. I never thought I would like blogging. I didn’t even want to start, but after much convincing, I started mine and automatically became addicted. This blog helps deal with the stress because it is a much needed break from studies and writing blog posts can be much better than struggling to write a paper or essay

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Blogging is a great way to get those creative juices flowing before focusing on the mundane topics professors often assign. It’s a great place for self expression. It’s also a very public journal (which can be unnerving). Overall, I think I’m starting to like it here more than Facebook. I spend much more time on WordPress nowadays than any other social site.

        Like

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

