While everyone else is sleeping…

I’ve always been a night owl. I love it when the world gets quiet. I enjoy the quiet and solitude of the midnight hour. 

Bedtime has always been between midnight and two am. Our new schedule is keeping me up even later. I don’t believe I’ve seen 5 am since I was a teenager!

We finally have our schedule sorted out. We’ve finally found what works best for everyone. 

  • 1 pm wake up (used to be 7 am)
  • 12:15 am dinner (used to be 5:30 pm)
  • 2 am daughter sent to bed (used to be 9 pm)
  • 5 am bedtime (used to be around midnight)

It’s so quiet between 2 and 5 in the morning. Now, just as we are crawling into bed, morning traffic is beginning. You actually hear the change takeover at exactly 5 in the morning. It’s almost like stepping out of a vacuum. It’s silent, and then suddenly there are cars and noise and the world around you is alive again. 

It’s an entirely different world we live in, now. Same house. Same neighborhood. Same daily traffic. But we aren’t awake for half of that world. Instead, we wake up during the lull between lunch hour and evening rush hour. My husband leaves for work just as those from the world we used to live in are driving home. Soon as evening rush hour ends, the quiet creeps back in, punctuated only by the occasional traveler. 

We are adjusting to living while everyone is sleeping. We are adapting to eating at such odd hours. Sometimes, I feel like the negligent parent, feeding my family so late. But we are still keeping basically the same schedule, the times have just changed. 

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

