Creamy Chicken Noodle Soup Casserole recipe

Happy New Year everyone! I hope you all had an enjoyable night last night and are having a great start to 2017! Last night, we didn’t do much. Just bummed around the house, hanging out. I cooked us a delicious dinner and baked an awesome dessert.

I love the flavors of chicken noodle soup, but I’m really not a fan of soup. I was really excited when I came across a recipe for chicken noodle soup casserole. It promised all the flavors of chicken noodle soup in a creamy casserole.

Then, I read the recipe. It was made with a can of cream of chicken soup. It also called for cheese. I don’t put cheese in my chicken noodle soup. Do you? So I started searching. It was all the same. Different cream soups, different cheeses, but the same concept nonetheless.

I was interested in trying a casserole that delivered on the chicken noodle soup flavor that was promised in the description of the original recipe I’d found. What do you do when you can’t find what you’re looking for? You create it.

I mean, I make my own chicken noodle soup. Why can’t I make a chicken noodle soup casserole that features a creamy sauce and all the flavor I love in chicken noodle soup? So, that’s just what I did.

Creamy Chicken Noodle Soup Casserole

  • 16 oz pkg egg noodles, cooked el dente
  • 4 cups frozen veggies (I used 2 cups carrots, 2 cups peas and carrots)
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 lb chicken, cubed (I used a pound of boneless breasts and a pound of boneless thighs)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder

sauce

  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 3/4 cup flour (I like Wondra)
  • 1 cup heavy cream (or milk)
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder

directions

Melt coconut oil in pot. Add chicken, onion, and seasonings. Cook, stirring often, until chicken is done. Add vegetables near the end to warm them and separate any that my be frozen together. It is not necessary to cook the veggies at this time. Drain the chicken and mix together with egg noodles in a large bowl.

Preheat the oven to 35o* and spray a 13×9 pan with cooking spray. In same pot you cooked chicken in, prepare the sauce. Melt the butter. Whisk in the flour. Slowly whisk in the cream followed by the broth. Whisk in the seasonings. Add in salt and pepper if desired. Simmer, stirring regularly, until thickened.

Pour sauce over noodles mixture and stir to coat completely. Spread the mixture in the prepared pan. Cover with foil. Bake for 30 minutes or until heated through.

If I had any garlic, I would have added a clove or two of minced garlic to the chicken and onion mixture. Overall, my family felt this really delivered on the promise of flavor.

(I apologize that, once again, I forgot to take a picture)

2 thoughts on “Creamy Chicken Noodle Soup Casserole recipe

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

