I’m just me…

I’m sure you have noticed by now that I don’t stick to one thing very long. I bounce from topic to topic. I write about what is on my mind. 

Opening up is hard for me. I am happy hiding behind my keyboard. I try to be as openly honest as I can be. If just one of my posts reaches just one person and lets them know that they are not alone, then I have been successful. 

I don’t have any sage advice. I have a load of experiences that have molded me into the woman I am today. Life has dragged me through the ringer more than once. It’s also brought me so much joy. 

Right now, things are beyond crazy around here. It’s not really my story to tell. I’m just a bit player along for the ride. In between all that crazy, I am once more homeschooling my daughter. I am trying to find what works best for her. At times it is the most rewarding thing I have done in a long time, but most of the time it is frustrating.

I’m not a teacher. I only ever wanted to be a teacher for about a minute of my childhood. I outgrew that quickly. She’s so smart and capable. When she sets her mind to it, she flies through her assignments. When she doesn’t want to do something, she pretends she can’t. She is the queen of trying to bargain her way into extra breaks or a reduction in work. 

I envy parents who send their kids to school. They get breaks. I’d love a break from my children every now and again. She’s happier now, away from that wretched place. The place where children are sent to become robots. The children whose parents come from generation be yourself and be proud of who you are. 

I can’t understand that one. How are we a generation that claims to embrace individuality and yet the public school system is designed to decimate that very same individuality in our children? I watch TV and the stars are always quirky and unique. I will continue to teach my children to be proud of who they are and never allow anyone to change them. 

I’m just me… the boring, the exciting, the quirky, and the quiet. I may fall short of who I thought I would be sometimes. I may struggle as often as I celebrate. But every day, I can proudly say that I’ve stayed true to myself. I want that for my children, too. Who we are is all we really have. 

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

