Leftover Turkey Noodle Soup #recipe

My family isn’t a huge fan of the dark meat, but I sure would hate to waste those drumsticks, thighs, and wings. So, I turn them into soup. This year, I made them with my homemade egg noodles. Absolutely delicious. 


Turkey Noodle Soup

Remove the dark meat from the bones (taking extra care to make sure you get all those little bones). You need enough meat to cover the bottom of the pot. While I did this, my husband diced me up two onions. I added two teaspoons of minced garlic (from the jar). Then, we added eight cups of vegetable broth and eight cups of chicken broth. After that, I tossed in about a tablespoon of the spices I used to season the turkey this year plus a teaspoon of salt and a teaspoon of pepper. I added three bay leaves and stirred it all up. 

I let that simmer for about an hour. Then, I added a bag of frozen carrots. I let it simmer for another hour. Then, I began preparing the noodles. Crack five eggs into a small mixing bowl and beat with a fork. Add in a cup of flour and stir with fork until smooth. Then, I added another cup of flour and stirred until smooth again.  

This is where I get icky with it. I pull out globs of dough with my fingers and drop i them into the pot. I had my husband stir the pot to keep the noodles from sticking to each other as they are dropped in. Let the noodles summer for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. 

Serve with crackers. Enjoy. 

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

