Really?

Today as part of the switch to homeschooling, my husband went to pick up our daughter’s stuff from school. I requested all of her work to see why they graded it all as a fail. 

The teacher used her incomplete work from class instead of all the work my daughter and I spent a week pushing through. A week of pure torture. A week of coming home from school, getting immediately to work, and working until about an hour past bedtime to get done. 

The items I wrote notes on are in there. They are in there as duplicates of the poorly graded pages. It’s about the only proof I have that she did what she did. 

What I can’t understand is why. Why would she do this? Why would a teacher want to refuse to grade the work she sent home? Was I not supposed to do it? Was I supposed to fail, therefore causing my daughter to fail? What kind of person is she? I am so angry right now. But, at least I now know for sure that we made the right decision returning to homeschooling.  

The school isn’t finished with us yet. Today, we got a visit from child protective services. This is the second time this school year that the school has called CPS on us. The worker was really nice. And we know that we are great parents. But, CPS’s time would be better spent on children who need their help. There is nothing illegal (or child abuse) about choosing to homeschool. In this case, it would be far more abuse of our child to allow her to continue to go to this school. 

We ordered new cirriculum books. They should be here in a couple of weeks. In the meantime, I still have stacks of work that they sent home that we couldn’t finish in the week time frame that was given to us. We are working on writing and reading and just trying to pull together schoolwork until the books arrive. 

Onward to our next homeschooling adventure! Wish us luck. 

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

