Blogger Recognition Award

Let me start by thanking simplynorthern for nominating me for the Blogger Recognition Award. I love following her blog and reading about her adventures in London. She paints such a beautiful picture I often times feel like I am there with her. If you haven’t read her blog yet, I strongly encourage you to check it out.

blogger-recognition-award

Rules

  1. Write a post to show your award.
  2. Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  3. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  4. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. (found at the top of this post because I believe thank yous should be immediate and first)
  5. Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.

How I got my start

I had read somewhere that for an author, a blog is an extremely important tool of the trade. I have my collection of children’s books [on Amazon], but I haven’t been able to afford the advertising to spread the word. I had also started to pick up freelance writing jobs again.

I needed a place to go to write for me. To stretch my writer’s mind and help me work through any writer’s block I may occasionally suffer from. I needed a place that could be my voice, uncensored. Sure, bits of my voice go into every article or content piece I write, but I have to use a certain degree of professionalism that I can leave out of my personal blog posts.

That’s when I came back to WordPress. This isn’t my first blog. I’ve actually been a terrible blogger over the years. Mostly because I was trying to sensor myself and could never think of things to say. Then I learned two really valuable lessons.

Two pieces of advice

The best piece of advice I read was to write like you are talking to a friend. Open up. Share your deepest self that you are comfortable sharing. This is not to say you should be airing your dirty laundry or touching on subjects that may chase away your following. But be honest and open with your readers. You will attract a following that enjoys your writing and is truly interested in reading the next thing you have to say.

My second piece of advice is to not vigorously edit yourself. Read over your post, check for spelling or content errors. If you find yourself performing rewrites, STOP. Your blog is meant to be open and honest and a free flow of your thoughts. When you begin editing your content, you may be self censoring. Your readership will recognize if you are holding back on them.

15 Nominees

  1. findingbreathless
  2. Grief Happens
  3. Recipe in a Bottle
  4. Whyteferret’s Blog
  5. LazyHaze
  6. Aspiring Thoughts
  7. bysuesway
  8. Life Confusions
  9. oodles of smidjens
  10. depressionistheenemy
  11. APlaceWeLike
  12. myhappycornerblog
  13. Fountain
  14. My Exaggerated Life
  15. The Fiction Café

You all write such wonderful posts. Keep up the great work.

6 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. You’re welcome. I love reading your posts and looking at your beautiful pictures. My mouth is still watering from those rice dumplings you wrote about the other day. I think I could almost taste them with you. 🙂

    Like

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

