#SpecialNeeds #Parenting

Autism Moms Have Stress Similar to Combat Soldiers

Mothers of adolescents and adults with autism experience chronic stress comparable to combat soldiers and struggle with frequent fatigue and work interruptions, new research finds. These moms also spend significantly more time caregiving than moms of those without disabilities.

-Disability Scoop

[Read More]

This study followed moms of kids on the spectrum. Having one on the spectrum and one with other severe emotional impairments, I have to say that it should simply say special needs. 

We love our children. We want what is best for them. We want their happiness. We do our best. For some of us as parents, we put in a lot of extra work. I will admit that sometimes it feels like a war zone. Attempting to provide the life our kids deserve with the setting they need while working with the school to ensure they are getting a worthy education and becoming well adjusted adults. 

It’s exhausting. I’m glad to see that studies are finally starting to recognize just how much we parents of special needs children are going through. 

Read the article, then come back here to discuss. I’d love to hear everyone’s thoughts. 

24 thoughts on “#SpecialNeeds #Parenting

    1. We need more understanding. Employers, friends, family. I wish they could all understand just how much extra goes into parenting children with special needs.
      I wouldn’t trade my kids for the world. I remind myself they were given to me because I am the kind of special that can be the parent they need. Now for the world to catch up. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you. It’s hard, but rewarding. At one point I was also a caregiver for special needs kids, but that proved to be too much. Knowing you’ve reached your limit is a huge part. Understanding support systems can go a long way, too. It’s been just my husband and I for a very long time.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. You have a very beautiful website. I look forward to coming back and reading more. Please stop by mine and if you like, follow back.

    Like

  2. I am a new blogger and I enjoyed reading your post. I know of several special needs children that I have known most of my life. It is super important to know how to relate to them and minister to the parents as well. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi I am the mother of 5 children one which has autism. Your post is refreshingly honest and open. Fantastically written I am a new blogger and only hope to be able to address my audience in such a fluent manner.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words of encouragement. The best advice I can give to you for your blog is to stay true to yourself and be as open and honest as you are comfortable being. The rest will fall into place. Good luck!

      Like

  4. Great post! I wish research would focus on siblings as well. We experience these same exact things, and I think many parents forget the caregiving roles siblings make. We’re all team, every parent, sibling, grandparent, aunt, uncle, cousin. We should all be recognized for the roles we play, and the emotional roller coasters we ride. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. totally agree with you summerjanacek! my six year old struggles with his emotions and gets agitated really quickly, he is currently being assessed and we don’t currently have a diagnosis but the general consensus is that he is on the autistic spectrum, his younger brother, although not being in a caregiver role as he is still only 21 months old, suffers due to my lack of 21 hands, and his life is massively affected too. Everyone should be recognised for the impact it has on their lives.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Goodness, I hope the best for them both! It sounds like you definitely have your hands full, but they couldn’t have a better person to be with them on their own journeys! 🙂 hopefully one day there will be better implementation of family systems. I hope your new year will be a good one!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank-you for your kind well wishes, I know being British I have it much easier than many other places around the world but I still feel like we have far to go! I’m not sure if I’m the best for raising my two boys but they won’t ever be short of love that is for sure!
        I hope you have a happy, healthy new year!

        Liked by 2 people

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

