Settling in

Today, the husband, daughter, and I toured the new school where out daughter will be enrolled. She met her teacher, her principal, the secretary who runs the show (principal called her the queen of the school), and a multitude of students and staff. 

I get a really great vibe from this school. I mean, I’ve never felt so at ease in school meeting. I don’t think I’ve felt such great energy from students and staff since I myself was an elementary student decades ago. 

The principal talked about letting your freak flag fly. She encourages everyone to be as different as they are and make no apologies. Weird is not a dirty word there. When I mentioned how bossy and demanding our daughter can be, she replied what I’m hearing is she has great leadership skills. 

The principal has diffusers around the office and uses essential oils for many purposes. She told our daughter that if her anxiety is up, she can come to get some lavender oil. She even promised to make her a roll on for the lavender. They are preparing to write her 504 plan, but are going to wait and see what supports she shows she needs instead of just assuming and assigning. Anyone who has a child with an IEP or 504 plan knows just how great that is. 

I’m truly feeling encouraged and optimistic about this entire move. Add in the beautiful views (I promise to get y’all some pictures one of these days) and how could it be anything but great here?

6 thoughts on “Settling in

  1. This is so great! I’m so glad for your daughter. This sounds like the school my niece went to. Since you said you’re near Mt. Pleasant, it just might be. I can’t remember the name.

    Been there, done that with 504s and IEPs. My oldest son. I can relate. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Nope. Just saw your Facebook comment and you’re in Harrison so I know the school that my niece went to wasn’t there. I was just looking at the Michigan map and thinking how much I love that state. Can’t wait to move back!

      Like

      1. We are hopeful, but she still has to do her part, too. She needs to understand that she can’t be acting like a fool.
        It is so very beautiful up her, but this southern girl is reserving final judgment until after I see what the winter is like. Lol. I’m a little nervous about this twenty lakes in twenty miles thing. Could mean lots of that white stuff that shuts us down in the south but these northerners don’t seem to notice so much. 20 years in Michigan and I’m still not used to the winters. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      2. I can’t wait to get back to the winters. I know I sound crazy, but once a northern girl, always a northern girl. I’ve lived in Nashville for 25 years and I still miss the winters and the more definite changes of seasons in the north. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. No one up here understands. They keep telling me I’ll get used to winter. I figure if after 20 years I’m still not used to it I probably never will be. Lol. Maybe when I get older I can become one of those snow birds. It’s beautiful up here until the winter hits, but id rather winter down south. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

