Meatball Soup #Recipe

Sorry guys, but this one doesn’t have specific measurements. I didn’t think to measure as I was creating. However, it turned out to be so delicious that I am going to share it anyways.

I started with about 1.25 pounds of ground beef. To this I added Italian breadcrumbs, Parmesan cheese, dried minced onion, garlic powder, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes and an egg. I guess it’s really all about your own preference for seasoning when it comes to meatballs. I mixed it with my hands (is there any other way?) and then rolled them into bite sized meatballs which I placed on a serving platter. I covered those with plastic wrap and placed them in the fridge (I read that this would help keep them from falling apart). 

Then I started the broth. I like to use a base and add that to water. I think it gives it far more flavor. Anyways, I made 16 cups of broth. To the broth base I added garlic powder, onion powder and 3 or 4 bay leaves. I also added a bag of frozen mirepoix (diced onions, celery and carrots) veggies. I turned the stove to medium-high and left the broth to simmer for 30 minutes while the meatballs set in the fridge.

After that 30 minutes was up, I dropped the meatballs 2-3 at a time into the simmering broth. I added half a bag of frozen chopped spinach. Stirred it all together. This I simmered for another hour (stirring occasionally). Then, I added half a box of ditalini (any small pasta will work). Ten more minutes and it was ready to eat.

I served it sprinkled with Parmesan and a side of delicious garlic bread. My family gave it nothing but rave reviews.

One thought on “Meatball Soup #Recipe

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

