#Learning

It’s actually rather fitting that today’s one-word prompt from The Daily Post is learning Earlier today, I read about a teacher who is taking a new approach to learning and I think it’s just perfect..

img_1673-1

Homework will only consist of work that your student did not finish during the school day. There will be no formally assigned homework this year.

I’m glad to hear that there are teachers who are paying attention to the studies. It’s never made sense to me that children spend 6-8 hours at school and then come home and work 2-4 more hours on homework to go over what they learned in school. That’s like working a 40 hour job and then coming home to devote another 20 hours of home time to your job. Nobody wants to do that. (I know, I know. I don’t work a 40 hour and as a freelance my home time and work time often mix)

Eat dinner as a family, read together, play outside, and get your child to bed early.

Most people leave there work at work. Those who take it home often find that they miss out on things that are happening right around them. Homework does that. Our poor children are so overburdened that they are missing their childhood while it happens all around them. I hope as this new school year is beginning that more teachers take a cue from Mrs. Brandy Young, and let the children live their childhoods after school.

 

5 thoughts on “#Learning

  1. We need the schools to be filled with Mrs Brandy Youngs. In the UK children do homework from when they first go to school to when they leave. When I was at school, homework didn’t kick in until we were eleven, and we were just as well educated.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree.Today I read that 1976 was the happiest year ever for children in the UK, and 2011 was the most miserable. I don’t know when the report came out, but it was suggested that the biggest reason for the unhappiness of children in this country is that they spend too little time with a parent, because both parents work. The burden of homework just adds to that misery.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s sad. We are up to 2 parents needing to work to make ends meet and we are already training our children to work nonstop with long days of school followed by taking their work home with them. My grandchildren will be robots. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

