10 year old cooks AMAZING dinner


I apologize that it was half eaten when I took the picture. It occurred to me that I should photograph my plate when I decided to write this post. 

She did all the work

On Friday as I was planning dinner, my daughter asked if she could cook. I was already planning for the lemon chicken pasta that night, so I told her that she could cook dinner on Sunday (today). We decided on pork chops.

For the rest of Friday and all of Saturday she came to me to discuss her ideas. Her first recipe consisted of 1/2 cup milk, 2 tbsp salt, 1 tbsp each of pepper, onion, garlic and then 2 tsp cayenne. I explained to her the proper measurements and suggested she might use the milk as a marinade instead of a cooking liquid.

Cooking Dinner

Early this afternoon she put the chops into a Tupperware. I poured in just enough milk to cover the chops completely. She sprinkled in garlic, onion, salt, pepper and lemon pepper into the milk and used a fork to gently mix the milk and lift the chops.

After about four hours, she set the oven to preheat at 375*. She transferred the chops into a 13×9 pan. She washed for the umpteenth time (because cooking sure is messy and you have to wash your hands a lot but I don’t care if it means I’m cooking dinner). She blended together 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, 1 tsp onion powder, 1/2 tsp coriander and 1/2 tsp cilantro (which she rubbed herself) in a small bowl. She pinched it between her fingers and sprinkled it all over the chops, flipped them over and washed again. She evenly sprinkled this side with seasoning, too. She prepared Betty Crocker 3 cheese potatoes to bake alongside her chops. She put them both in the oven.

She played with Daddy while cooking dinner

She washed again. She set the timer on her dinner for 45 minutes and sat down in the front room to continue her battles with daddy on Age of Wu Shu Dynasty. The three of them play that game all of  the time. Any time I asked her how long until dinner she popped off the time. When I suggested that it was time to heat the creamed corn she ran into the kitchen. When the timer went off, her daddy had to turn it off because she was already waiting at the oven, wearing her oven mitts. She pulled it all out of the oven herself.

It was delicious

The pork chops were tender. They cut easily. And they were indeed delicious. Quite possibly one of the best pork chops I’ve ever eaten. My daughter shares my love of cooking. She’s been watching chopped junior lately. I’m not sure I’m ready to be run out of my kitchen. What do I do? She could be better than me…

They grow up too quickly

I love watching my kids grow. Watching them learn and explore. My son is all grown up now. He thinks he doesn’t need me anymore. Think I’ll keep “helping” her in the kitchen just as long as I can. He’s decided to prove he can cook better than he did in his Boy Scout days. He doesn’t know it yet, but tomorrow I will be “helping” him in the kitchen, too.

3 thoughts on “10 year old cooks AMAZING dinner

    1. She really did a great job. She took the time to plan her menu and create her recipe. Just watching her gave me such an incredible feeling. She’s excited about cooking and already requested to cook again as soon as possible. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

