#Recipe: Lemon Butter Chicken Pasta

I have been on a lemony flavor kick lately. Perhaps my body is craving Vitamin C, or maybe I’m just missing Spring (lemon always makes me think of Spring). Whatever the reason, it led me to come up with this newest recipe last night. I wanted a lemon chicken, but I did not want to do another cream sauce as I just made my Creamy Lemon Pepper Pork Chops the other night. (that sauce would probably be good on chicken as well)

Once again, I forgot to take pictures. I do apologize because that will be a regular thing. I don’t tend to document my life in photographs, though with my tbi I really probably should. This pasta dish came out really good. I am betting it would even be delicious served cold.

Lemon Butter Chicken Pasta Recipe

Ingredients:

1 box farfalle pasta (that’s the bow-ties)
cooked according to package directions while you cook the chicken

In small bowl or ramekin combine:
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
Set aside.

2 tbsp coconut oil (or whatever oil you prefer)
2 lbs (about 4-5) boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cubed
1-2 tbsp dried, minced onion
2 tbsp lemon juice

4 tbsp (half a stick) butter
1/4 cup lemon juice
2 cups broccoli (I just use the frozen stuff)

1/2 cup Parmesan (we use the Parmesan, Romano, Asiago blend)

Directions:

Heat oil in deep frying pan or large saucepan over medium high heat. Add chicken and onion, stir. Add about half of a teaspoon of seasoning blend and the two tablespoons of lemon juice. Stir together. Cook, stirring regularly, until chicken is done. Drain the chicken in a strainer and return it to the pan.

Add broccoli, butter, the remaining seasoning blend, and the quarter cup of lemon juice. Stir completely. Cook until broccoli is done, stirring regularly. (took mine about ten minutes)

Add cooked, strained pasta. Stir gently being certain all noodles are covered. Add in Parmesan and toss to coat.

Cook’s Notes:

I think it would taste delicious with spinach in place of the broccoli, preferably some fresh baby spinach. In this case, cook to wilt but do not overcook.

I use coconut oil because of the many health benefits. We lost quite a bit of weight (3 pants sizes for me) since switching to coconut oil two years ago. I do not suffer from nearly as many hypoglycemic episodes since switching to coconut oil. If you are not familiar with the benefits of coconut oil, I strongly encourage you to research it. (I will try and get a post up with some useful information and links that will help)

3 thoughts on “#Recipe: Lemon Butter Chicken Pasta

  1. Oooh boy, we could talk! Lemony-limey things are my absolute favorites. Maybe a lemony-limey-bloggy-something-or-other! 😮 (I tend to go overboard with the capers, though.) Thanks so much for sharing. (PS…does that happen to carry over to pickles and kraut for you??)

    Liked by 1 person

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

