Parenting hack

I’ve been working pretty hard this weekend turning out some really great medical articles. I haven’t had much time to stop by and post. Before I reward myself with a little vegging out with my Netflix for the remainder of the day, I thought I’d stop by and share a little parenting hack.

We’ve all seen parenting hacks like the one pictured below streaming through our news feed.

This mom’s using a brilliant method to get her kids to do chores (every day!)

You can scold them, chide them or straight up ground them. But maybe there’s an easier — and perhaps more effective — way to get your kids to do their chores.

The solution: bribery. Wi-Fi bribery, that is.

img_1663

[Read More at Today.com]

If you’re anything like me, you figured out that it was too complicated (coincidentally, the Daily Post’s one-word prompt for today. 2 birds, 1 stone) to change your WiFi password every day and extremely frustrating to have to enter the new password every time.

So, my husband and I took it to the next step. He and I and all our devices are tapped directly into our WiFi router using the original (albeit complicated) password that came with the router. We happened to have bought a WiFi extender for our home. So, we use our NetGear extender for the kids.

I simply log into the extender and select to change the password. It is easy to come up with passwords. I have done something as simple as goodnight or when really frustrated with their behavior it’s been mommeanswhatshesays. The other night after my husband had me laughing so hard I was crying, the kids’ new password was gigglefest.

It takes me less than 5 minutes to change the password thanks to NetGear, and my husband and I never miss a beat while working or playing online.

Now, I’m going to enjoy my never interrupted WiFi and my Netflix for some well deserved relaxation.

6 thoughts on “Parenting hack

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

