creamy lemon pepper pork chops

img_1629

 

Tonight, we had decided on pork chops for dinner. I had some leftover heavy cream in the fridge from another recipe. I decided to come up with a cream sauce for my chops. I served them with Betty Crocker parmesan asiago potaotes and broccoli. They came out really tasty, so I thought I would share the recipe.

I think this sauce would also pair well with chicken or fish. The sauce was so delicious, I even put it on my broccoli. If you are using leftover cream, just add enough milk to bring it to 2 cups.

creamy lemon pepper pork chops

ingredients:

6 boneless pork chops
4 tbsp butter
2 tbsp dried, minced onion
1/4 cup flour
1 to 1 1/2 tbsp lemon pepper seasoning, to taste
2 cups heavy cream and/or milk
2 tbsp lemon juice
1/4 to 1/2 tsp salt, to taste

directions:

Combine flour and lemon pepper. Set aside. Mix heavy cream/milk with lemon juice. Set aside.

Preheat oven to 375*.

Melt butter in small saucepan over medium heat. Saute onions. Gradually whisk in flour mixture. Continue whisking. Slowly pour in milk mixture. Bring to a simmer. Simmer for about 5 minutes, whisking constantly.

Pour a small amount of cream sauce into bottom of 13×9 inch pan. Arrange pork chops in pan. Pour remaining sauce over top of pork chops.

Bake for about 40 minutes or until done.

img_1630
creamy lemon pepper pork chops
2 thoughts on “creamy lemon pepper pork chops

  1. I made these again tonight, and the sauce came out thicker and creamier. I thought I should post what I did differently in case it effects the outcome.
    First, I used 2 tbsp of margarine and 2 tbsp of coconut oil (would have done so original had I had coconut oil in the house because I love the health benefits and it may have contributed to the creaminess)
    Second, I only used milk because I did not have any heavy cream in the house (though with heavy cream being thicker, I find it doubtful that this is the reason)
    Third, I used a smaller saucepan that could barely hold more than 2 cups of liquid. (This may have allowed it to simmer better and led to a thicker sauce)
    Let me know if you make these and how your sauce turns out. Thanks.

    Like

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

