it’s a little discouraging…

While I am writing articles and stories and various other items, I am also seeking outside employment. Something with a bit more steady of a paycheck. I have revamped my resume. I have joined CareerBuilder. But, the entire process is a bit discouraging.

Applying

You fill out countless applications for every company you can think of. You build a resume and post it to a site like CareerBuilder and submit to every job that looks interesting or even just compatible with your level of experience. Then, you wait… and wait… and wait some more. Finally, someone calls!

Interviewing

The phone rings. It’s a potential employer. They are interested in setting up an interview. It’s exciting. It’s exhilarating. It’s terrifying. You spend however much time they give you mentally preparing for your interview. You think you know what you will say. You figure out how to sell yourself to the interviewer. You try to get a good night’s sleep before you go to the interview. You arrive early. Looks good, right?

You engage in conversation. You let them take the lead and follow the conversation wherever they go. You feel great. When the interview is over, they tell you someone will call you in the next couple of days. You’re excited. You think you nailed it. They seemed to like you. You go home. Then, you wait… and wait… and wait some more.

Waiting

As the days pass by, you start to question if the interview went as well as you thought. You go over it again and again in your head. Was it something I said? Was it something I did? You can’t pinpoint anything. You feel that you did well. They said they’d call you. Why aren’t they calling? Your disappointment grows. You continue the process of applying, interviewing, waiting. To what end? Someone has to be interested in you, right?

I am finding the entire process to be so discouraging. I have applications/my resume out in numerous fields. I have all kinds of skills. I also have huge gaps in my employment history. I was a stay at home mom for much of those gaps. I also took quite a bit of time caring for my husband’s grandmother until she passed away earlier this year.

I start to wonder if these gaps make me look undesirable. I did stuff while I wasn’t working. Hey I wrote and published 5 books! That should count for something, right? I’m not giving up. In fact, I spent all day today filling out applications, writing cover letters, and submitting my resume. But now, I am waiting again.

I know I’m not alone. My 18 year old son has been going through this for a year. He hasn’t found his first job yet. I wish him much luck and understand the disappointment he must be feeling that he has been unsuccessful.

Anyone else suffering the pain of job seeking? Anyone have some words of encouragement for those of us suffering? Would love to hear from you.

4 thoughts on “it’s a little discouraging…

      1. Yes ofcourse I shall check them out. 😃
        Also, I think it’s all a learning experience. The more interviews you go to, the better knowledge you have of how to handle what is thrown at you.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Also probably true. It probably helps when I’m interviewing for jobs I’d actually enjoy as opposed to the ones that I’m not so certain about. Every day is a new day and I’ve just got to keep interviewing until I’m finally someone’s Pikachu.

        Like

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

