homemade salisbury steak

I love Salisbury Steak. What I don’t love is how high in sodium TV dinners are. I came up with this recipe because I had a craving and did not want to buy the frozen, high sodium option. My family devours it every time. While this is not a cooking blog, I will share some of my great recipes from time to time because I really do love to cook and sometimes I come up with real crowd pleasers.
img_1621

You will need 8 to 10 beef patties. You can prepare them yourself if you like. I like to buy premade hamburger patties.
img_1614

Mix together the seasonings in a small bowl. For these measurements, I use a traditional teaspoon not a measuring teaspoon.

1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1/4 tsp cayenne

img_1615

Season both sides of each patty with a pinch of the seasoning blend. Literally just take a pinch between your fingers and sprinkle it. You can do this first, or do like I do and season them in the pan. Pan fry the patties for about 3-4 minutes per side. You are really just wanting to fill the pan with grease for your gravy. They do not need to be fully cooked at this point.

img_1616

Transfer the patties into a 13×9 inch pan. I have found that only 4-5 patties fit per pan if you do not want them to overlap. Continue until all patties are precooked.

img_1617

If you would like to add onions or mushrooms, saute them in the pan before adding the flour. Whisk in 1/4 cup of flour and the remaining seasonings from the bowl. It really is best to use a whisk, but mine is broken so I used a spoon.

img_1618

Slowly whisk in 4 cups of beef broth. Set the oven to preheat to 375*. Bring the gravy to a slow simmer. Simmer for only a minute or two. You want the gravy to still be thin.

img_1619

Use a ladle to transfer the gravy into the pan with the patties. I like to use my spatula to lift them up and make sure that gravy gets underneath. Bake in oven for 20-25 minutes.

img_1620

I like to serve them with mashed potatoes, green beans, dinner rolls, and a tall glass of cold milk.

One thought on “homemade salisbury steak

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

