yup, I scrapped it…

Yesterday, I poured my heart and soul into a piece that I probably should have written years ago. 4,500 words flooded out through my fingertips. Today, I scrapped every word. 

Have you ever worked on a project you’ve been planning for a long time. Perhaps you were waiting for that special yarn to go on sale or holding on to a wreath just waiting for inspiration to hit you. Yesterday, I finally decided to start work on an article I spent years researching. I found a site that I think may be interested in it. I’ve put my investigative journalism lessons to great use and spent a very long time collecting information.

It’s a hard moment to write about. It’s an emotional moment that I hope will bring readers to the edge of their seat. I want to make sure it resonates. I want it to end with a message. I want that message to reach out and grab people. I want it to be meaningful.

That 4,500 words wasn’t it. It was technical. It was stiff. It was a flop. I am not scrapping the project. If anything, I’m more determined than ever to see it through. Which is why this morning I began anew. I have written just over 3,000 words today.

I started over from scratch. This piece is wrought with emotion. It paints a picture. It puts the reader in the middle of the story. It drags the reader along for the ride. It’s exactly what I dreamed it could be. It’s not finished yet.

I feel terrible for the words of yesterday. I want to apologize to them that they will never see the light of day. I want to apologize for them because they aren’t up to par. They were the exercise. They allowed me to explore this moment in my life from a technical point of view. Maybe I needed to get them out of the way before I could allow the emotional side to come through.

I’m afraid of the story. I’m afraid of what will happen when I put it out there. I’m afraid of the realizations I am admitting to. I’m afraid of the truths I unearth just by admitting their existence. I’m afraid to share the moment. I’m afraid not to.

Do you have a moment in your life that you’ve applied some investigative journalism to?

Have you ever scratched an entire essay because it didn’t speak to you?

What strategies do you have in place for dealing with trashing a days work?

Hello. My name is Tiffany, and I am an artist. Ergo, I hate my work…

2 thoughts on “yup, I scrapped it…

  1. Sorry to fill up your ‘in box’. You need to be heard, Tiffany.

    As a new blogger here, just wanted to share that I read somewhere that WordPress filters out any more than 15 tags. 😮

    Hope you have a productive day. Keep pressing the button. 😉

    Like

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

