Your dream doesn’t have an expiration date…

I saw this somewhere, and I had to capture it. Sadly, I do not know whom to give credit to.

It’s a great reminder to us all. No matter what the dream. Whatever the reason why you fell, gave up, failed, or just never gave it a serious try. It is never too late.

So, here I am. Working towards my dreams again. 

Step 1: say it out loud

My goal. My dream. My plan. I want to have enough freelance writing gigs to be able to work from home completely. I want to sell enough stories, articles, and posts to be able to provide the income I need to help support my family.

I dream of logging on to find that my story, my writing, my heart and soul has gone viral. Oh to hear that the world wants to know what I am thinking.

Writing, reading, the written word. These things make me happy. The quiet of the written word is this introvert’s paradise. I don’t talk much. Even at home, I am quiet and tend to get lost in conversations inside my head. But, with my keyboard in front of me, I feel free.

My plan is to flood the freelance world with my submissions and write, write, write. I will write my blog and grow a following. I am learning how to use LinkedIn. I am writing and reading insightful articles, short stories, and personal accounts of this crazy thing we call life.

I have also given up personal social media accounts. These things distract me and keep me from focusing on my writing. Maybe some day I will return. Maybe I will grow my social media for my writing. For now, I will be happy growing my blog and trying to network via LinkedIn. I’ll leave the rest for another day.

Slow and steady wins the race… and we’re off!

Step 2: go out and do

Click follow in the sidebar to watch me go out and do. Click share at the bottom of any post to tell a friend to check me out.

There are no guarantees in life, but I’m offering you front row tickets to the show. Free of charge. Stop by, read what I write, leave me some thought provoking comments, share if you like, and continue on with your day.

Step 3: hold yourself accountable

That’s right. I know I’m going to make mistakes, fall on bad habits, or hit a chunk of writer’s block. When this happens, I will acknowledge and work through whatever the problem may be. A journey begins with the smallest of steps. These are mine.

I will post some of the details of my journey into freelance writing, from the places I’ve been to the places I will go. I will share personal anecdotes or stories from my day that are meant to amuse and entertain or offer insights I’ve learned or pieces I may struggle with.

This is not going to be a torrid details of my personal life type blog. I will not air out dirty laundry or start sharing the mundane day to day stuff that is my life.

I wish you luck in your journeys. Feel free to watch me trip and stumble through mine.

Who else has set goals? Got a blog post about your dreams? Share the link to your post or tell us about your plans in the comments section. If I’ve inspired you to write a post of your own, please give me a mention and link to this post. Let’s support each other as we reach for the sky!

 

2 thoughts on “Your dream doesn’t have an expiration date…

  1. Hey Tiffany,

    I absolutely love your writing style. In my next life, maybe I’ll pick up a few of your skills.

    Introvert. Hmmm. Me too. But I wish extroverts would spend a little more time on their ‘innerds’. Sounds like you’ve done the inner work well.

    Glad to hear you’re writing for children. Jonice Webb has essentially rescued me, and I wish. WISH. Desperately wish that there would be a way to reach parents and children with her message. Heard of her? “Running On Empty”?

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your feedback. I am not familiar with her. I have been out of touch with the publishing world of books lately. To be honest, I’ve been inside myself for a while now. Just starting to poke my head back out. I will definitely look her up!

      Like

I love feedback. Leave a Reply

